Hot Dishes to Get You Laid 🤪

SB189

Welcome to Secret Breakfast / An exclusive newsletter, the best place to start your day with Italian Grandmas, Dominican Spaghetti, Spanish routes, and Finnish newsletters

I can’t write a proper caption for this. But their babka should be delicious.

Hi there!

I keep thinking about something fresh for the summer, and all I get is super-hot stuff.

Take The New York Times: oxtail!

Or Alison Roman: pork chops!

Is it going to be a steamy summer?

Piero

PS: to cool things off, I’m doing something unusual with a Northern country. See details below.

Tel Aviv, Israel. A woman with a rifle shops in a bakery in Tel Aviv. Photograph: Marko Đurica/Reuters

Massimo Bottura, chef.

🇫🇮
I’M RUNNING A CRAZY POPUP NEWSLETTER
ABOUT FINLAND
(you can read it only by signing up below)

The short version. I'm running Kippis, a free daily popup newsletter about Finland. It's not sponsored or anything. It will run for five days, then it's over. Since I respect your right not to be flooded by emails, you can only subscribe by clicking here or on the big button below.

The longer version. I've been offered the possibility to visit Southern Finland.

There is so much to tell and the part of the trip I could use for my day job is limited. Then I thought: let's use it for a Secret Breakfast popup newsletter.

Finland has some incredible peculiarities:

  • it's made of 190.000 lakes and 180.000 islands;

  • it has 5 million inhabitants and 3 million saunas;

  • 70% of the land is made of forests;

  • Finnish are said to be the happiest people on the Planet;

  • they also rock in maths and have many funny words like KIPPIS (meaning "cheers");

Then, I'm using this for experimenting with a new format and with a new "language". You'll find more writing, more original photography, different silly sections, probably a few recipes, fewer links, and zero long-read links.

I won't be invasive. If you're interested you can sign up here: it will run for five days, then the subscription will be gone.

I'll send Secret Breakfast subscribers only one more email about this as a reminder, then I won't bother them anymore.

Hope to see you on the other side.

Picture by me

Dishes to Get You Laid

★★★★☆

We needed some crazy stuff! Here you go: 5 Dishes to Get You Laid and One for the Morning After; I Wish I Were an Italian Grandma; Lose Your Mind Lobster Rolls; “I Might Go Vegetarian” Veggie Sandwich; “I Hope We Didn’t Make a Baby” Breakfast Burrito. Benny Blanco is a pop music super-producer, who worked on songs like Señorita by Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello, or Diamonds by Rihanna. A good book of recipes and stories by a guy who likes “inviting friends over, getting stoned, and making the most elaborate sandwiches his prepubescent minds could fathom”.

Open Wide: A Cookbook for Friends by Benny Blanco and Jess Damuck
Shortplot: 🍗 📀 🌯 🦞

This is where Secret Breakfast picks juicy content from food creators

This is the space where I share some food (un)related stuff of my week

🏝️The 20 Most Beautiful Beaches in the World 🇫🇷The Eater Guide to Paris 🍫This is Hardcore: Diffractive Chocolate, as in “turn ordinary chocolate into an edible optics demo that shows how diffraction works” 🎇Fry Chinese Puff Buns like the Best Restaurant in the World (★recipe) 🇩🇴Why I’m Bringing Back Dominican Spaghetti as a Beach Dish 💫Kids Will Love Galaxy Crepes (★recipe) 🇸🇪Gubbröra, or Gentleman’s Delight, is a traditional Swedish dish that is great served as a canapé (★recipe) 🦋Butterfly or Firefly: What’s Your Friendship Style? 🤓The Excel superstars throw down in Vegas 🧑🏻‍🍳2024 James Beard Awards Winners

How the Fridge Changed Flavor
Nicola Twilley / The New Yorker

Today, nearly three-quarters of everything Americans consume is processed, packaged, shipped, and stored under refrigeration. It has changed not only how and what we eat but what it tastes like, too.

The Best Restaurant in Town 
Priyanka Matoo / Taste

Blink, and you’ll miss the best restaurant in town. It’s time to break free from heat maps and the tyranny of trendy.

Walking through grief; while eating through Spain on foot 
Claudette Zepeda
A chef on a journey through the French route of the Camino de Santiago, 260 km on foot toward Santiago de Compostela.

Last week's most clicked link was Instant Search 2 Million Recipes. And that's all for today.